Cumabi

My mom and I have a favorite place to shop called Cumabi. Only Thursdays.  Sadly it’s about a 5 hrs drive from where Tyler and I live. So, whenever we do go to the grand city of Santa Cruz , if possible, I try to “encourage” our going on a Thursday.  My mom is way better at this encouraging with my Dad than I am with Tyler.  Maybe because I’m more of a sucker for an amazing bargain -I don’t know. But this place is a weak spot of ours.

It’s like a massive chaotic flea market. The best part is, is that it’s all American stuff. Sure, a lot of it are things that should have been thrown away instead of shipped to a Third World country for donations and tax right offs Stateside. However…however, there are some pretty great things to be found if you look hard enough and don’t mind searching in 90-100 degree weather plus high humidity! My mom always brings her hat, which I’ve just started catching on to- and adding tons of sunblock to that list of pre-shopping prep. Enough said, right?

So just to list some of the things we’ve found, tons of American Girl dolls(Mom’s personal favorite for grand daughters and other little girls), great cast iron pans, Le Creuset enamel pots (YES!), Jcrew, Boden, Tonka, Radio Flyer, baby everything…the list goes on and on. I think we’re Cumabi pros! One disclaimer is this. Make sure you don’t take anything valuable with you. In the chaos and fun there are pickpockets casing us and waiting for the right moment.  Yup, my diaper bag got slashed a couple times last week.  It’s funny how we do kind of have a 6th sense because at one point while we were shopping I looked behind me and just felt like someone was following us. It’s happened to us before and usually it happens in a really crowded spot where people are pushing against each other to get through a narrow alley. Thankfully they/he didn’t get anything. Just ruined my awesome bag from Borders book store. It was my favorite travel bag because of it being water proof and big. No big deal though since they didn’t get anything or hurt us.

Anyways, here are a few of the things I picked up this last time. The most exciting item isn’t here sadly because since our vehicle is so tiny we didn’t have room for it plus groceries and the Little Tikes wagon we picked up for the kiddos. I’ll post on that item when we pick it up next time we’re back in Santa Cruz. The New Tribes Mission Guest Home host was nice enough to store it for us until then. (Missionary Guest houses in the cities are life savers for us missionaries that live in the backcountry!)

Any of you guys out there enjoy avid flea market shoppers/consignment stores? I miss those stores! But Cumabi will do. 😉

 

 

My bag ;( An American Girl doll to gift out to someone. Lily wanted to try her out in her stroller just once. An Tommy Tippey nursing cover that I love. I had a home made one,but it just wasn't big enough. It was probably made for a smaller mommy.  This one's perfect!
My bag ;( An American Girl doll to gift out to someone. Lily wanted to try her out in her stroller just once. An Tommy Tippey nursing cover that I love. I had a home made one,but it just wasn’t big enough. It was probably made for a smaller mommy. This one’s perfect!
Genuine Bowron Sheepskin throw. (Maybe it's weird I like sheepskin, but I do.) I looked this one up online. They're a New Zealand based company and this one goes for more than $200 so I got a deal at $12. Loving it!
Genuine Bowron Sheepskin throw. (Maybe it’s weird I like sheepskin, but I do.) I looked this one up online. They’re a New Zealand based company and this one goes for more than $200 so I got a deal at $12. Loving it!
Charlie Banana OS diapers! Mint condition too. I couldn't believe it when I saw these. I wish there had been more! I got them for $3 each- not bad huh? And that awesome pacifier...if only Landon would take a pacifier. ;(
Charlie Banana OS diapers! Mint condition too. I couldn’t believe it when I saw these. I wish there had been more! I got them for $3 each- not bad huh? And that awesome pacifier…if only Landon would take a pacifier. ;(
And of course for the grandparents... my multi-tasker  talking to her cousins and coloring.
And of course for the grandparents… my multi-tasker talking to her cousins and coloring.
And the curious little dirty faced one that got his hands on the wood stove. Yeah, Mom always knows what you've been up to.
And the curious little dirty faced one that got his hands on the wood stove. Yeah, Mom always knows what you’ve been up to.
8 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh how fun!!! I LOVE good deals! 🙂 I’m glad you have a place like that there!

  2. Audrey Todd says:

    Awe, that sounds like so much fun!! I love consignment shops and thrift store shopping for “treasures”.

  3. Angelia says:

    Wow, I would like to find such awesome deals like you do there,..suppose I could learn something from your mom too. Lol Really nice finds, especially like the throw. 😊

    1. I wish it was like this each time I go but, there are so many times that I don’t find anything too. I still keep coming back though cause you NEVER know when there will be some treasure 😉

  4. Emily MacGill says:

    My dad brought some sheepskins back from New Zealand in 1990 for our family. (He went there on a business trip.) I have no idea what he paid, but I’m sure it wasn’t too expensive then. Anyway, what fun to go bargain-shopping with your mom! Thanks for showing pictures of your treasures! There aren’t any good places for me to shop around here, so I stick to eBay. 😉

    1. Wow, that must have been a pretty amazing trip for him! I like to window shop online too! I only buy something if i know of someone coming down though because duty fees are usually just as much as whatever the price of your merchandise.Yikes! ;(

  5. Lisa Romero says:

    I enjoyed reading about your thrifting adventures! It was also a good reminder to pray for your safety as you deal with pickpockets and such. Love the sheepskin throw on your sofa! My oldest daughter Nicole in Tyler, Texas finds some amazing treasures at garage sales near her home. My son Ryan and his wife Brianne are also well known for the great deals they find at places like Goodwill and Plato’s Closet. Looking forward to the post on the treasure you had to leave behind. 😉

  6. Oh, I miss Plato’s Closet!!! You never know what you might find there. 😉 I just posted the follow up to the Cumabi post. Thanks a million for reminding me~ I totally forgot about it! 😉

Leave a Reply

